Pembrokeshire YFC Public Speaking competition

With Christmas upon us preparations were under way for the English Public Speaking Day held once again at the Pembrokeshire College Campus. Under the guidance of Mrs Edna Davies and her team of stewards members once again gave the judges plenty of food for thought with competitions once again of the very highest standard. The Junior reading judge Mrs Jean Lewis was impressed by the high standard in the junior reading section awarding best chairman to Symi Mason with Fflur James winning best reader and Eglwyswrw YFC winning overall as the best team. Mrs Meirion Morse, Templeton was also impressed by the standard with Best Chairman awarded to Joe Richards Best vote of thanks awarded to Menna John and best speaker named as Mirain James. The overall team was won by Llysyfran YFC.

Jan Mathias was given plenty of lively discussion in the brainstrust section as members discussed a variety of topics. Fishguard YFC was the overall best panel with Poppy Lewis as best chairman and best speaker awarded to Ieuan Harries, with Fishguard YFC winning the overall trophy for the section.

A change of rules meant a change of format for the senior section in this year’s competition with members fighting it out for and against topics set by the judge Dr Beth Howells who commended how the members had taken to the change of format. The senior section was won overall by Keyston YFC with Angharad Edwards named best chairman. Sam Kurtz won best speaker with Josie Lewis as best supporting speaker. Dan Morgan Keyston was named most promising speaker.

Also held on the day was the Just a minute competition under the adjudicator Dill Williams’ guidance. The winning team was Llawhaden YFC. The Brownslate overall trophy was won jointly by Llawhaden and Llysyfran YFC. The teams will now go forward to represent county at the Wales Public Speaking day on the 24th March in Builth Wells.

Comments are closed.